Deep Loss

Here is a poem I wrote after my first loss.  You can see the influence of Emily Dickinson in the brevity, the slant-rhyme, and of course the subject matter.

Losing Lucy

 

Just as we were meeting, she

Slid quick away – too far –

And I, surprised at sudden loss,

Ran leaping after her.

 

My eye still fixed on her bright face,

I felt by want of breath

How high I’d lifted from the ground,

Abyss of air beneath.

 

I reached – but she had turned – cruel heart!

To a remoter view.

The deep fall back is decades long

And dizzy down I go.

This entry was posted in Depression and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deep Loss

  1. lensgirl53 says:

    Well done. I am a lover of and writer of poetry, too.

Leave a Reply

