Book (p)Review: The Diagnosis Formerly Known as Asperger’s Syndrome

The book is actually The Journal of Best Practices, by David Finch, recommended to me by a patient who is working on similar issues.  The author is an engineer turned essayist and comedy-writer.  I really like his blog in Psychology Today (a pop magazine I’m always complaining about, but which has some good blogs).

Journal of Best Practices

I ordered the book from half.com, but it hasn’t yet arrived.  So I’ll have to do an update on it later, after I’ve read it.

Here is the Aspie Quiz Finch refers to in the book.  My Aspie score is 46 and my Neurotypical score is 167.  Not that I was trying to look either neurotypical or Aspie, but the test is fairly transparent and I could tell which way the items were leaning.

The Autism Spectrum Quotient (AQ) is shorter and probably has better psychometrics.  It was developed by Simon Baron Cohen (yes, brother of Sacha) with colleagues at the Cambridge Autism Research Centre in the UK.  My score on this test was 12, which is average for women (not autistic).

___________________________________________

Tangential rant on the DSM: Apparently, the wisemen at the American Psychiatric Association, when they rewrote the DSM, decided not to include the Asperger’s Syndrome diagnosis.  I personally haven’t found it necessary to buy or get the training on the excessively expensive and controversial DSM 5, since CMS (Medicare/Medicaid) and the insurance companies only require ICD-9-CM codes until October, and ICD-10-CM codes from then on (both of which are free and easily accessible on line).  Incidentally, the ICD-10-CM as of now does include Asperger’s as a diagnosis, so I guess if I need it I’ll still be using it.

So there, DSM5 and American Psychiatric Association.  Pffft.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book (p)Review: The Diagnosis Formerly Known as Asperger’s Syndrome

  1. I think we Aspies will continue to think of ourselves that way, DSM be damned. My AQ score is 40, which shocks a lot of people – but I’m nearly 50. I’ve learned to fake being normal pretty well.

Leave a Reply

